Meeting Minutes – July 2015

Miami Area Society of Homebrewers
Minutes of the Monthly General Meeting
July 23, 2015

The monthly general meeting of the Miami Area Society of Homebrewers was called to order at approximately 7:00 PM at Daddy Brews on July 23, 2015 by Bob Billany.

I.   Review of Previous Minutes

Reading of the minutes of the previous meeting was waived.

II.  Treasurer’s Report

We’re solvent.

III.  Old Business

1. Club Tax Status

Josh Hubner continues to research this issue. 

2.  Summer Solstice Party

A good time was had by all.

3.  Barrel Project

Today is the deadline to provide beer for aging in the rum barrel

III.  New Business

1.  Upcoming Competitions

The 4th Annual Colorado Pepper Beer Competition will take place on August 22.  This is a BJCP sanctioned competition. Entry window is open from July 15 – August 14, 2105.

2.  Education Session

Bob Billany conducted a brief session focusing on food & beer pairing.  

3.  Meeting Site

Jacob Lindsay, the owner of Daddy Brews has accepted a position as Head Brewer at Miami Brewing Company in Homestead.  He has closed the store, which necessitates us finding a new home for our monthly meetings.  Suggestions were solicited and a list compiled.  Secretary, David Kirsten, will prepare an online survey and send to the membership at large to solicit feedback.  The Board will review the responses and formulate a decision.

4.  IPA Day

Founded in 2011, IPA Day will roll around once again on Thursday, August 6th.  Club members, Matt & Marie Waldron, have offered to host a bottle share at their home on Friday, August 7th to celebrate the event.  All are welcome.  (Bring beer!)

5.  Brewer of the Year (BotY)

The BotY style for July was SMaSH Beers – Single Malt & Single Hops.  5 entries were received.  The winners were . . . 

First Place:                 Michael Moussa (Pale Ale) 
Second Place:            Matt Waldron (Pale Ale)
Third Place:                Jay & Kari Fonte (Saison) 

The BotY style for August will be Belgian & French Ale.

IV.  Time/Place of Next Meeting


Minutes submitted by:  David Kirsten, Secretary

Minutes approved by:   Bob Billany, President