Meeting Minutes – December 15, 2012

The December meeting of the Miami Area Society of Homebrewers was called to order on December 15, 2012.

In attendance: Jon (President) & Alisa Britton, Denise (VP) & Scott Graham, Eric (Scrollkeeper) & Caroline Johnson, Darryl Hickey (Librarian), Bob (Treasurer) & Jodi Beard, Dave Kirsten, Bob & Rachel Billany, Josh Kritzer, Danny & Arlene Argudin, Patrick Whiteside, Danny Smyth,Steve Copeland, Guests.

The first order of business was a motion was set forth and seconded to retain Bank United as our bank and to change the signers on the account from Darryl Hickey and Scott Graham to David Kirsten and Bob Beard. The motion was passed by Majority vote (100% yea).

No checks have been issued since last meeting.

A motion was set forth and seconded to make a $250 donation to “Susan G. Komen for the Cure”. The motion was passed by Majority vote (100% yea).

The Coconut Cup date was set for March 2, 2013. Pre-judging dates were discussed, but not set until we contact the out of town judges to see when they are available. Bob Beard to determine cost and availability of the American Legion Hall for pre-judging. Jon Britton is the Coconut Cup Chairman and Scott Graham is the Head Judge. Entries will be capped at six per person with a max of 300 for the competition in total.

A motion was made and passed to reschedule monthly business meetings to the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. These meeting will be primarily held at Sunset Grill in South Miami with a social gathering to follow at other sites.

Miami Beer Festival has been confirmed on January 19, 2013 at Marlins Stadium. 4 brewers to get free tickets.

The redesigned web site is being built and David has a beta version set up and is asking the membership to visit it and send him any comments, suggestions and/or changes.

The 2012 BOTY cup (in this case it was cups) was awarded to David Kirsten and Bob Billany. Congratulations you brewers of the year. challenge was set by them for all the membership to win the cup form them next year.

Officer elections where held for the 2013 offices. We had a majority vote for officers of the club (100% yea).

The new officers for the 2013 year are as follows:

      • David Kirsten – President
      • Bob Billany – Vice President
      • Bob Beard – Treasurer
      • Darryl Hickey – Scrollkeeper
      • Eric Johnson – Librarian

Congratulations to all of the 2013 officers and may you uphold the standards that so many in the past have set. Thank you to the 2012 past officers for a fine job and all the time you put into the club.

The last order of business was the December BOTY. The category was Non-Session beers (beer above 1.040 OG). We had nine entries from seven different club members. A judging panel of three – Eric Johnson, Steve Copeland and Darryl Hickey – tasted all the entries. Five entries were selected and tasted again. From there the three winners where set as follows:

– First place went to David & Bob for their Belgian Tripel.

– Second place went to Scott & Denise for their Christmas Ale.

– Third place went to Danny Smyth for his American Pale Ale with rosemary.

Congratulations to the winners. It looks like David and Bob are going for the cup again.

The meeting was closed.

Darryl Hickey
Scroll keeper
Miami Area Society of Homebrewers.