Meeting Minutes – December 2015

Miami Area Society of Homebrewers
Minutes of the Monthly General Meeting
December 192 2015

The monthly general meeting of the Miami Area Society of Homebrewers was called to order at 1:00 PM at Ellwoods Gastro Pub in downtown Miami on December 12, 2015 by Bob Billany.

I.  Review of Previous Minutes

Reading of the minutes of the previous meeting was waived.

II.  Treasurer’s Report

We remain solvent.

III.  Old Business

1. Club Tax Status

After painstaking research (2 minute Google Search), David Kirsten has determined that the club is not required to file for tax exempt status as it qualifies for this status under the IRS “Gross Receipts Test”.

2.  Competitions

The Coconut Cup will kick off the Competition Circuit in February 2016.  Final judging will take place at the American Legion Post in South Miami on Friday, February 26 and Saturday, February 27th.  The entry window will open on January 9, 2016.

3. Beer Festivals

Next on the calendar is the Miami Beer Festival, scheduled on January 30th at Marlins Park.  MASH will have a tent at the event.

II.  New Business

1.  Election of Officers

Elections were held for the club’s 5 Board positions.  Congratulations to the new MASH officers for 2016:

President:            Jorge Molina
Vice President:    Matt Waldron
Secretary:            Daniel Kinard
Treasurer:            David Kirsten
Librarian:             Daniel Barrett

2. Brewer of the Year (BotY)

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 BotY Competition:


Intra-Club Category: Matt Waldron

Inter-Club Category: Scott & Denise Graham

December kicked off the BotY Competion for 2016.  The style of the month, with 6 entries, was IPA.  The winners were . . . 

First Place:                  Dave Kirsten & Bob Billany (Rye IPA)
Second Place:             Roberto Torrealba (Session IPA)
Third Place:                 Michael Moussa (Black IPA)

3  Winter Solstice Party

General merriment ensued.

IV.  Time/Place of Next Meeting

Thursday, January 28th @ 7:30 p.m

M.I.A. Brewing Company
10400 NW 33rd Street
Doral, Florida 33172

Minutes submitted by:  David Kirsten, Outgoing Secretary

Minutes approved by:   Bob Billany, Outgoing President